Fulham’s Josh King thought he had scored the first Premier League goal of his career with a smart finish against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Saturday.
The 18-year-old England Under-19s midfielder wheeled away in celebration after the goal was given on-field, but it was later chalked off following a video assistant referee (VAR) intervention.
The move began with Fulham winning the ball just outside their own box, and three passes later King was in behind the Chelsea defence.
King raced into the box and shifted the ball on to his right foot to take Blues centre-back Tosin Adarabioyo out of play, before firing low past goalkeeper Robert Sanchez in the 22nd minute.
But referee Robert Jones was instructed to take a look at the pitchside monitor for a foul in the build-up to the goal.
Rodrigo Muniz was deemed to have fouled Trevoh Chalobah as he tried to turn the Chelsea defender near the halfway line.
The referee announced to the crowd that King’s goal was ruled out for a “careless challenge”.
“After review, the Fulham number nine commits a careless challenge, stands on the foot of the Chelsea defender, therefore we disallow the goal and we restart with a Chelsea free-kick. There would be no further action,” the referee was quoted as saying by the Premier League match centre on X.
In the Premier League rulebook, a “careless challenge” is deemed one with a “lack of attention or consideration when making a challenge or acts without precaution”.
But not everyone agreed with the decision to rule out the goal.
“The whole point of VAR – and this is my frustration, we’ve probably said this a thousand times I’m getting bored of saying it – is ‘clear and obvious’,” former Aston Villa and Derby County defender Curtis Davies told BBC Radio 5 Live.
“We’re watching a young lad run away and score a goal and it’s getting pulled back for nothing.
“It’s honestly ridiculous and you’re going to look for a needle in a haystack with every decision.”
Match of the Day pundit Danny Murphy added: “It’s the worst decision I’ve seen this season. It’s a complete lack of understanding of the game.
“Muniz tried to do a lovely bit of skill and as he puts his foot down to balance himself he catches Chalobah. VAR disallowed the goal because they’ve said it’s a careless challenge – but it’s not a challenge, it’s a pirouette in the middle of the pitch.
“It’s absolutely awful officiating. It’s one thing getting the referee to come and look at it, but for Rob Jones not to see that it isn’t a tackle is bizarre. I don’t think anyone who understands the game, whether you’ve played it or not, can give that as a free-kick.”
This article is the latest from BBC Sport’s Ask Me Anything team.
Watch all your favorite Amazon Prime Video Sports broadcasts live and free. Get access to NFL, NBA, NASCAR, WNBA, and more – all included with your Prime membership!